PMI Queensland Chapter

Certification FAQs

Certification FAQs

electionPMI’s website provides answers to a number of certification FAQs, including:


Do I have to be a CAPM, PMP, or a PMI Member to apply for other PMI credentials?
No one credential serves as a prerequisite for another. You also do not have to be a PMI member to apply to become a credential holder. Membership however has many benefits: discounted fee for the PMI exams, access to a community, discounted and often free local events, access to an arsenal of articles and resources, and free downloads of most of the PMI standards.

How do I earn a PMI credential?
Each certification has its own requirements and prerequisites. To obtain a PMI credential, you must first meet the eligibility requirements outlined on these certification pages and detailed in the appropriate credential handbooks. All PMI certifications require submission of an application and approval. Once approved, you can schedule your exam. PMI certifications require you to pass the certification exam.

When does the PMP Exam change?
The next major change to the PMP Exam takes effect on the 2nd of January 2021. This is in response to the recently updated PMP Exam Outline (published by PMI). The PMP exam is actually constantly changing in terms of new questions added, some questions retired. The changes coming in 2021 however, are major changes and approximately 50%-60% of the exam will change.

How is the PMP Exam Changing?
The exam composition is changing where only 50% of the exam is process knowledge (i.e. the practices you find in PMBoK), the rest of the exam is comprised of new content. The exam will be comprised of 50% process knowledge, 8% business knowledge, and 42% interpersonal/people skills. The other major change is that at least 50% of the exam (across all domains) will test your understanding of adaptive (agile) and hybrid lifecycles.

What are the eligibility requirements?
The eligibility requirements for each credential are mentioned on the respective certification pages and detailed in each respective credential handbook. Please check to the appropriate credential handbook for complete guidelines.

Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)® 

Project Management Professional (PMP)®  

Program Management Professional (PgMP)®  

Portfolio Management Professional (PfMP)® 

PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)® 

PMI Professional in Business Analysis (PMI-PBA) 

PMI Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP)® 

PMI Scheduling Professional (PMI-SP)® 

Does the Chapter offer training for certification?
Specifically, with respect to certification training, the PMI Queensland chapter partners with our local Registered Education Providers for the delivery of certification training. We have been collaborating with PM1World (AKA Bay3000) for over 10 years to help our members succeed in the exams.

You can also contact the PMI Chapter or PM1World at the contact email addresses below.


If you have further questions you can: